BH Cosmetics "That's Heart" Palette Review + Tutorial

Hi guys,

I grabbed this BH Cosmetics “That’s Heart” palette from Hautelook for a hefty discount fairly recently, and after a few weeks of trying it out, I’m finally ready to give you guys a review!

2014-05-01 15.19.46

2014-05-01 15.19.58

You know how some products you try once, and you just know how they work? Like my last review on the color-changing lipstick. It was clear after one use how I felt about it, and how to describe it to you guys.

Well, this palette took a little more time to figure out. It caught my eye for the eyeshadows–I love that there are a few neutrals and a few colors–and the fact that the bronzer, blush, and highlight were built in, too. How can I say no to convenience?

Here are the swatches of the eyeshadows:

2014-05-01 15.52.21
2014-05-01 15.52.32

2014-05-01 15.52.45

And the bronzer, highlight, and blush:

2014-05-01 15.54.11

So, here’s the lowdown.

The packaging is adorable, and it feels nice for a cardboard palette, complete with a magnetic closure. It gets a little dirty, but that doesn’t bother me too much. The sizes of the products are fairly impressive, too, for such a compact palette. I especially like that the bronzer and highlight come as a duo, but they give you a full-size blush.

The products are a very nice, soft powder, but the pigmentation seems to be hit-or-miss. The bronzer is probably the most pigmented product in the palette, which is fine with me! That shade could also make a nice color for the crease or outer corners of the eyes. The blush needs a bit of building up, as do the eyeshadows. Some of them get swept right up in the brush, like the white and champagne-beige (left two) eyeshadows, while some take a bit of work to even get enough on the brush, like the browns and blues. None of the products are complete duds, though, so keep that in mind too. A couple of shades also seem to swatch much differently than they look in the pan: the highlight is gorgeous swatched out and has a warm glow to it that you wouldn’t expect, and the medium brown shade has a rosy shimmer to it, kind of like Liar from Naked 3.

I noticed some creasing with these eyeshadows, even with a primer. So after all that work to build up some color, they didn’t quite last all day like my other eyeshadows can. However, right when they’re applied, they’re absolutely beautiful, and with a lot of work, I can apply them so they look good for a decent amount of time. I have a lot of fun playing with the colors in this palette!

Overall, this isn’t a bad palette, but it’s not extraordinary either. I can’t say I would have paid full price for it knowing what I do now, so if you’re thinking about getting this, I suggest looking for BH Cosmetics on Hautelook or another discount site. But if you love pops of color as well as your basic neutrals, I think this could be a lot of fun! I would also recommend it for beginners who like having an all-in-one product.

I made a tutorial using the colors in the palette, so if you’re interested in seeing them in action, take a look!

Never miss a post or video

Subscribe to get a weekly digest of the latest stuff from Broke for Beauty, right in your inbox.

We won't send you spam. Unsubscribe at any time. Powered by ConvertKit

Leave a Comment